Thursday, 19 August 2010

driving in the rain

lets face it it rains a lot - so in theory we should all be used to it by now
but when it comes to driving in it a lot of you out there havent got a clue

number one headlights - put them on
i know you can see where you are going buts thats not why you should put them on - its so other people can see you

fog lights - no,no,no
yes you think so people can see you - no in rain they blind the people behind you and worse people confuse them with brake lights and that causes other problems

you dont have to slow right down in the rain but you dont have to drive like idiot either
just drive with more awareness of others and give yourself more room for manouvre and dont follow each other so close - it takes a lot longer to stop in the wet - not to mention a much greater chance of getting into a skid - i doubt many of you have played on a skidpan and learned how to control it properly - so dont use the busy roads to practice on

look ahead - sounds easy i know but be aware of standing water if you see it slow down before you get to it and dont brake as you go through it as it has the same result as if you drive through it too quick - aquaplanning - total lost of control and usually going off in the wrong direction

mud flaps - if you get chance get some on your car - very few cars seem to have them on nowadays if you all put them on it would go a long way to reducing the amount of spray and we could all see better - less accidents

another one check your wipers tommorrow and if they need changed go and get them changed - its better to see it before you run in to it
drive safe and stay lucky!!!